Walt Disney WorldAnimal Kingdom

How Is the Animal Kingdom Classified?

Animal Kingdom 6

The Animal Kingdom, also known as Kingdom Animalia, is a vast and diverse category of organisms. With millions of known species – and many more yet to be discovered – it presents a significant challenge to biologists attempting to categorize and understand the relationships between different animals. In this comprehensive guide, we will delve into the classification of the Animal Kingdom, exploring its fundamental features, the principles behind its classification, and the impact of modern technology on our understanding of animal diversity.


The Animal Kingdom, or Kingdom Animalia, is classified based on several fundamental features such as levels of organization, symmetry, cell organization, coelom development, segmentation, and the notochord presence. It is divided into two major groups: Chordates and Non-chordates. Each group is further divided into phyla, classes, and subgroups defined by specific characteristics. The classification is continually refined as new species are discovered and our understanding of animal evolution expands, facilitated by advancements in technology like genomics.

Fundamental Features of Animal Classification

The Animal Kingdom is classified based on several fundamental features such as levels of organization, symmetry, cell organization, coelom development, segmentation, and the presence or absence of a notochord. The classification system divides the Animal Kingdom into two major groups: Chordates (animals with a notochord) and Non-chordates (animals without a notochord).

Non-chordates include several phyla, such as:

  1. Porifera (sponges)
  2. Coelenterata (Cnidaria)
  3. Platyhelminthes (flatworms)
  4. Annelida (segmented worms)
  5. Arthropoda (insects, spiders, crustaceans)
  6. Mollusca (snails, squid, clams)
  7. Echinodermata (starfish, sea urchins)
  8. Hemichordata

Chordates are further divided into three subphyla:

  1. Urochordata
  2. Cephalochordata
  3. Vertebrata

The subphylum Vertebrata is further divided into five classes:

  1. Pisces (fishes)
  2. Amphibia (frogs, toads, salamanders)
  3. Reptilia (reptiles)
  4. Aves (birds)
  5. Mammalia (mammals)

Each phylum, class, and subgroup is defined by specific characteristics that help scientists understand the relationships between different species and their evolutionary history.

Principles of Animal Classification

The basic principle behind the classification of the Animal Kingdom is to systematically arrange organisms based on their morphological and evolutionary similarities. This allows for easy identification and study of the vast variety of species. The classification of animals is based on various criteria, such as levels of organization, symmetry, presence or absence of a notochord, diploblastic and triploblastic organization, and the presence or absence of a coelom.

Evolutionary Relationships and Classification

Evolutionary relationships play a vital role in the classification of animals by providing a framework for organizing and understanding biological diversity based on shared evolutionary history. This approach allows scientists to convey information about the evolutionary history of organisms and refine classification systems as new data becomes available.

Impact of Technology on Animal Classification

Advancements in technology, particularly in genomics, have significantly impacted the classification of the Animal Kingdom. The development of molecular biology and genomics has led to a better understanding of the origin of animals and their evolutionary relationships.

Reclassification of Species

The classification system accommodates new species or reclassification of existing species through a process called taxonomy. Taxonomists describe and classify new species by comparing characteristics shared by groups of organisms, which may be anatomical, behavioral, or molecular. As new information becomes available, such as genetic sequencing, scientists and taxonomists sometimes have to reassess classifications.

Binomial Nomenclature

The binomial nomenclature system is a formal method of naming species of living organisms by giving each a name composed of two parts, both of which use Latin grammatical forms, although they can be based on words from other languages. The first part of the name, the generic name, identifies the genus to which the species belongs, while the second part, the specific name or specific epithet, distinguishes the species within the genus.

In conclusion, the classification of the Animal Kingdom is a complex process that involves the consideration of various features, principles, and technological advancements. It is an ongoing process, continually refined as our understanding of the natural world expands. Understanding this classification system is crucial for studying the diversity, evolutionary history, and ecological roles of different animal species.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is a notochord?

A notochord is a flexible rod-shaped structure that is present in the embryonic stage of all chordates. It plays a key role in the development of the nervous system.

What is the difference between diploblastic and triploblastic organization?

Diploblastic organisms, like jellyfish, have two germ layers in their embryonic stage – the ectoderm (outer layer) and endoderm (inner layer). Triploblastic organisms, like humans, have an additional middle layer, the mesoderm, which gives rise to muscles, the circulatory system, and internal organs.

What is a coelom?

A coelom is a fluid-filled body cavity that is completely lined by mesoderm tissue. It is found in triploblastic animals and provides a space for the development and placement of complex organ systems.

What is genomics and how does it impact animal classification?

Genomics is the study of the complete set of genes or genetic material present in a cell or organism. It has greatly impacted animal classification by providing more accurate data about genetic relationships and evolutionary history, leading to more precise categorization of species.

What is taxonomy?

Taxonomy is the branch of science concerned with classification, particularly of organisms. Taxonomists describe, identify, name, and classify species based on shared characteristics.

What is binomial nomenclature and who came up with it?

Binomial nomenclature is a system of naming species using two Latin name parts: the genus name and the species name. This system was developed by Carl Linnaeus, a Swedish botanist, in the 18th century.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *